Kentucky: Council on Postsecondary Education

Kentucky Virtual Library announces student winners of PSA contest

Release Date: March 14, 2005
Contact: Sue Patrick
Phone: 502-573-1555

(Frankfort, KY)  Kentucky Virtual Library announced the student winners of its second annual “Create a KYVL PSA Video” statewide contest on March 4 at the Kentucky Teaching and Learning Conference in Louisville. As a joint effort of KYVL and the Student Technology Leadership Program in Kentucky’s public K-12 schools, the contest invited students from across Kentucky to submit 30-second public service announcement video entries spotlighting KYVL and its online resources.

The winning elementary school was Robert D. Johnson Elementary in Fort Thomas. The middle school prize was awarded to Jones Middle School in Florence. Crittenden County High School in Marion was the first place recipient in the high school category.
“We were excited to have another great round of creative entries this year,” said Enid Wohlstein, KYVL director. 

“Our partnership with STLP in this effort gives these students the opportunity to use their existing skills and acquire new knowledge through the use of technology. The contest also serves to educate students about KYVL’s resources and services and to promote collaboration between the students and the library media specialists,” she added.

KYVL works to prepare students to be full participants in today's information-based global economy and in the life-long learning process.
The STLP, coordinated by Elaine Harrison of the Kentucky Department of Education, is an experiential learning program that empowers students in all grade levels to use technology. All 176 school districts across the state have at least one school participating in this program.

The students submitting the winning entries and their STLP coordinators include:

  • Robert D. Johnson Elementary School- Phillip Englert, Noah Hamant, Jared Rizzo, Jason Waldenmayer, and coordinator Dennis T. Daniel.
  • Rector A. Jones Middle School- Sarah Dietz and Olivia Medovich,  and coordinator Lisa Stamper.
  • Crittenden County High School- Justin Asbridge, Amanda Jewell, Jared LaRue, and Jesse McDowell, and coordinator Kim McDowell.

The winning video entries are available for viewing on the KYVL Web site at  Video links in QuickTime format can be found by choosing K-12 Schools under Learning Communities.

Kentucky Virtual Library, a reference and research Web site, is part of Kentucky Virtual University, a unit of the Council on Postsecondary Education. By encouraging collaboration between libraries and partners in education and using current and emerging technology, KYVL aims to provide all Kentuckians access to a core collection of digital information resources. For more information, visit the Kentucky Virtual University Web site or call toll-free the at 1-877-588-5288.  For more information on the STLP program, visit


Last Updated 8/3/2005